Crafty MiM’s Weblog

Crafty ideas, crochet, knitting, sewing, pathwork and papercrafts

Perfect corners! July 30, 2009

Filed under: Patchwork — craftymim @ 12:23 pm

Our first Thursday Quilting session was a blast. Gill had me set up from the start, and whilst I sew’ed she cut for me, and checked on proceedings, and made coffee. Lovely all up. That same afternoon the DDs had a birthday party to attend, and I in turn had 3 more hours of sewing at home.

Gill shared with me a great technique for getting perfect corners on my nine-patch.

I have, with a little help from my trusty assistant DD9 put together a photo shoot of the steps.

First, rule up your nine-patch including seam allowances onto glad-bake. If your finished piece is 6” x 6”, you’ll be cutting your nine patches 2.5” x 2.5” so rule up a nine-patch made up of 2.5” x 2.5” squares. Then cut a piece of interfacing the same size, center on your drawing and pin to your ironing board. We made sure the drawn on side of the gladbake was facing down, to not get any pen marks rubbed on to the interfacing. (and make sure the glue-side of the interfacing is UP).

100_0147

Next, lay your fabric patches on top, along the markings on the paper. Making sure to butt up the sides of the patches carefully and not let them overlap.

100_0148

Then place another piece of glad-bake over the entire thing and press (no steam). The glad-bake will stop any glue from the interfacing ending up on your iron. I love this tip.

100_0149

Fold two rows of patches together, right sides facing and stitch with a 1/4” seam. Repeat with the other row running in the same direction.

100_0152

Next, I trim the edge of the fold that has just been stitched. This is not a necessary step, but as my quilt will be for a garden bench, I will try to minimize the bulk of the seam to make it softer to sit on. I cut off just enough to be able to open up the seam. This could be done with scissors but the rotary cutter does it in a jiffy.

100_0155

Once you cat stitched and trimmed two rows running in the same direction, fold you fabric along the seam running the other way, making sure to open the stitched seams.

100_0157

This is made easier if you run you nail along the seam first, or iron it open. I dont like ironing it open, its very fiddly, and if you iron your interfacing too much it will shrink.

100_0156

When you have finished you last two seam, trim, and ta da! your perfect corners are ready to be admired.

100_0159

100_0160

I have made a pile of 17, shall keep you posted on my progress.

100_0161

 

Leave a Reply

