Crafty MiM’s Weblog

Crafty ideas, crochet, knitting, sewing, pathwork and papercrafts

I don’t get the sock-thing March 4, 2008

Filed under: knitting — craftymim @ 9:53 pm

So, although Mr Bear AKA Mr Candyfloss is still missing his eyes and nose, I decided to cast on for an experimental pair of sock. Everyone’s doing it. I should be able to. I know a knit from a purl , and a decrease from an increase. Surely I can cast on 36 stitches on 3 lousy needles and create a sock.

Bl#@dy things they are! I’ve started with 100% cotton on 4 needles, and after 5 or 6 severely diffilcult rounds one of the needles just slipped right out of the presious stitches it was supposed to keep all neat’n tidy for me. When I try to hold the two non-working kneedles at the same time as working on the other two i have no room to move……I’m wondering if it’s the cotton that’s making it all too slippery.

Have tried googl’ing for Knitting with 4 dumb needles for blondes without any luck.

Soneone please put me out of my misery and show me the holy grail. Winter is coming. The family must have warm toes! 

 

6 Responses to “I don’t get the sock-thing”

  1. Irene Says:

    HA HA! Scandinavian Knitting Design know how to knit socks on two small circular needles. How’s about asking Birgitte?😉

  2. Maria Says:

    Irene – of course! But for now the socks are off the needles, and are being transformed into a warm winterhat!!!!😉

  3. gillie Says:

    I have had the same battle (see dpn vs circular on my blog) but have finally come to an uneasy peace with the DPNs but would dearly love to be able to knit socks on a circular needle ….. so if you find out let me know and I promise to do the same!!

  4. Mrs. Lear Says:

    I really like using two circulars – especially when carrying a sock project around in a coat pocket. If you google for “knitting on two circulars” you’ll find some help. I really love Cat Bordhi’s book, “Socks Soar on Two Circular Needles.”

  5. gillie Says:

    Will google immediately, I spent half an hour or so patiently (or not so patiently) picking up stitches after lifting my knitting from my enormous handbag and leaving the needles in the bag AAAGGH!

  6. craftymim Says:

    Thanks Mrs Lear, I will keep my eye out for that book!
    gillie – let me know how you go.


Leave a Reply

